Enough Having Enough?

March 4, 2011 at 10:18 pm 2 comments

Well, it has officially been over six months since I last posted on my dear Having Enough blog.  The blog I started nearly four years ago to spark conversations and share my musings about redefining success in our “have-it-all” culture, and to question what is “enough” for myself and others.  I still think about this issue constantly – it is part of who I am to question why we do what we do, buy what we buy, think what we think – and yet I’m not blogging about it anymore.

Perhaps it is because I have a 2-year-old and a 5-year-old now, and life is pretty darn busy.  Perhaps it is because I have been working on other exciting projects, such as editing books for yoga teacher Naomi Call and parenting coach Vicki Hoefle, and writing a column on conscious living for AOL’s Patch.

Perhaps it is because this blog has served its purpose for me – transitioning from my job as full-time university career counselor and former doctoral candidate to stay-home mom and freelance writer-editor, jump-starting my writing again after the birth of my first baby, helping me re-focus my own values and life direction.  Perhaps my thoughts have become more complicated and personal for me over these four years, and more difficult to blog about in a comfortable way (I am journaling more these days…).

So many other people seem to be blogging now on the same kind of issues than were when I started this blog in 2007.  That’s exciting for me to see.  Like eating organic food, questioning our “too much” culture has become more mainstream, for the American middle class at least.

The economic crash perhaps spurred this particular trend – but that is kind of the point, isn’t it?  We, as a culture, got too greedy, pushed too far, lost perspective, and now we are being forced to re-examine our values and our actions, to tighten our purse strings and get real with ourselves.

Did Having Enough (in a Have-It-All World) contribute anything notable to this new cultural conversation?  Perhaps a little.  In checking out my Dashboard today, I learned that my blog home page has had 10,768 views, and my most popular post by a landslide (which still gets over 250 views a month) is No-Gift Birthday Parties, with 5,503 views to date.  This tells me something important, and validates some ideas I have for what might be next for me in this realm.

Within another year or so, I foresee myself having more time to write and work again.  Will I come back to this blog?  I won’t rule out that possibility.  Will I start another?  That might be it, too.  Will I put that time and energy into a different kind of personal writing project? Right now, I am not totally sure.

But I do know I feel compelled to post something here explaining the status of this blog, for those 150 or so people a month who may still click on this page.  And I do know I feel really good about the four years of writing archived here on Having Enough.  I am proud of the films, books, quotes, organizations and ideas I highlighted here.  I am touched by many of the comments and conversations.  I am eternally grateful for the friends and connections I made through this dear Having Enough blog, and for the class I took with Christina Katz that started it all four years ago.

This blog has been a labor of love, and a boost in consciousness for me.  It has been a joy.  Perhaps it is time to transition away from blogging here.  Time will tell, after I post this official farewell, whether I long to have it back.

At this moment, though, I think it is enough.  What is here — in all of its completeness and incompleteness, in its fumblings and articulations, in its moments of wisdom and those of naïveté — is all that I have to say here for now.  I am grateful enough, content enough, exhausted enough, to say that, as far as this blog goes: enough.

Thank you, truly, for visiting and sharing this journey with me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

A New Family…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  March 5, 2011 at 3:00 am

    While I could never get enough of your writing, Meeg, a sense of completion is a beautiful thing to have!

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole  |  March 11, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Sending loving thoughts your way! I know that wherever you end up devoting your (limited) time and attention, it’ll be the right place for you :)

    Glad to see you last week, miss you.

    Nicole

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Recent Posts

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

