Success = Sleep

September 25, 2007 at 2:42 pm 4 comments

It’s amazing how our definition of success can change over time, even over the course of days, depending on our circumstances.

This week, success for me was some sleep. Any sleep. After three days and three nights of my toddler not sleeping (not at night, not at nap) after her first nightmare.  I felt for her, I understood, I loved her through it, I marveled at her iron will, and knew it would pass. But by the third day I couldn’t see straight, had a hair-trigger temper, and I was definitely a road hazard driving to the local grocery.

Finally, on the fourth night, she was so exhausted that she slept. Peacefully. And napped peacefully yesterday, too. Let me tell you, the sight of that slumbering child was the sweetest feeling of success I’ve felt in ages.

It’s all relative, isn’t it?

(And my apologies to anyone who has emailed me in the past week — success next week will be catching up with all I neglected in my sleep-deprived state!)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hitting the Jackpot Tomorrow is a Working Hypothesis

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lifeinthegravy  |  September 25, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Funny how what we consider success can change from day to day, huh? When my children were little.. I remember thinking I could handle ANYthing.. if only I could sleep for awhile.

    Slumber on, Megan.. sounds like you deserve it–big time 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Mrs. Jones  |  September 26, 2007 at 4:23 am

    And here I was feeling guilty about sleeping past seven. Thank you, Megan! You have set me aright!

    Reply
  • 3. caroline  |  September 26, 2007 at 4:25 am

    Congratulations on the sleep. May it be the beginning of a new era of sleep for you all…

    Reply
  • 4. Melissa  |  September 27, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    Oh, poor sweet little thing! It must have been a serious nightmare. I hope the new sleep trend continues.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


