Conscious Consumer Meme

October 10, 2007 at 8:55 pm 1 comment

I’ve been “tagged” by Elrena Evans, the co-editor of the forthcoming anthology Mama, Ph.D. (in which I contribute an essay) for a meme called Conscious Consumer.

Allow me to explain this meme, which, as a relatively new blogger, I had to learn from Elrena is a blogging game. The following rules I copy from Elrena:

Here’s how it works: post the directions on your blog, tell everyone who tagged you, answer the questions, and tag five or more people. That’s it! And if you want to grab the graphic to put on your blog as well, feel free.

The purpose of this meme is to inspire some reflection about how we shop and what we purchase. The idea isn’t that consumption itself is somehow bad, but that we all could probably stand to put a little bit more thought into what we buy. And, of course, it’s supposed to be fun.

So here goes! Pick a recent shopping trip — for clothes, shoes, groceries, doesn’t matter. The only guideline is that it will be easier to play if you purchased at least a few things.

Now tell us, about your purchases:

1. What are you proud of?
2. What are you embarrassed by?
3. What do think you couldn’t live without?
4. What did you most enjoy purchasing?
5. What were you most tempted by? (This last one may or may not be an actual purchase!)

About the only thing I shop for “live” nowadays is food. And I only shop for food at four stores (mom-n-pop natural grocery, Trader Joe’s, and two corporate natural groceries) or farmer’s markets.

As a whole foods/vegetarian cook (not a great cook, but I cook so in our house I am a cook), I used to be very organized in my menu-planning and food shopping. But with a toddler, it’s a bit more catch-as-catch-can, go when she’s in the mood and grab what looks good. This means our grocery bills are climbing in a crazy way, so this topic is a good one as I think about getting back on track with my food-buying budget.

So, I’ll answer these questions using our latest trek to the mom-n-pop natural grocery, my daughter’s favorite place ever:

1. What are you proud of?
Lots of fresh, organic vegetables and fruits: kale, leeks, yams, avocados, berries, cantaloupe, zucchini, onions, bananas, lettuce, carrots, cauliflower…

2. What are you embarrassed by?
The bag of grain-sweetened dark chocolate chips. Only because it was over four bucks and I ate the whole bag myself in handfuls, often in the early mornings, within a few days.

3. What do think you couldn’t live without?
See above question. Major dark chocolate-oholic.

4. What did you most enjoy purchasing?
For sure the veggies and fruits — the colors and textures and smells, and knowing I am feeding my family this healthy stuff. Also I liked buying bulk lentils; fun to pull the lever!

5. What were you most tempted by? (This last one may or may not be an actual purchase!)
I always want to try all kinds of natural supplements — the latest “green” powder or homeopathic remedy — these are not cheap, and are more tempting when I’m list-less (in both senses)! (This has replaced my teenage desire to try all kinds of cosmetics.) I didn’t buy any of those products at the mom-n-pop store, but I did buy some (for less, I swear!) from our monthly co-op.

And that’s the meme! OK, I’m tagging More Than You Ever Wanted to Know, The Spice Choir, Dreaming About Water, Gravy Days, and Managing the Motherload. Have Fun!

If you’re reading this and not tagged, please feel free to answer the questions as a Comment, too!

Entry filed under: Life.

Helen Keller on Success Green Halloween & Two Americas?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. alsmercer  |  October 10, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    Megan, this is so funny. Now I’ll have to think of some other shopping experience b/c I was thinking about food shopping as well….do I shop for anything else? hmmm, sadly, I don’t think so. Thanks for tagging me, I’ll work on this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


