Affirmation!

January 10, 2008 at 5:08 am 5 comments

I’ve gotten excited lately about writing affirmations. 

Affirmation.  “A positive assertion,” as Miriam-Webster defines it. 

This idea to write affirmations got sparked when Christina Katz asked me to write a little column called “Closing Words” for her new Writer Mama zine (link in the works).  The assignment was to end her zine each month with a little affirming thought for her audience of writer moms, using my concept of “Being/Having Enough” as the general theme.

Me, being the nerd I am, started doing my research on the actual form of  affirmations. I bought books of affirmations. I looked up the rules. And I realized that much of what I love to do — from my writing to my career counseling to my conversations with friends — involves the kind of perspective and purpose that affirmations accomplish.

In writing, an affirmation is a short, present-tense statement of empowerment. It’s often accompanied by a quote and/or a musing, and always ends with a statement to repeat (the affirmation). I’m sure you’ve seen them.

I’ve realized my style and my passion about the idea of “Having Enough (In a ‘Have-It-All’ World)” is actually quite well-suited for this form.

So, while my monthly Writer Mama column has not turned out to be quite an official affirmation in form (although it is affirming!), here at Having Enough (In a ‘Have-It-All’ World) I am now going to post a real, official, true-to-form affirmation for you (and for me) every month.

Here’s my first affirmation, for January 2008. (I’ll hereafter post my monthly affirmations on my sidebar as well.)  Please let me know what you think! (If you really like them, maybe I’ll post them more often!)

“To know you have enough is to be rich.”  – Tao Te Ching

Having enough is internal. You can have it right now, at any moment you choose.

It is not in your home, your car, your awards or diplomas, your clothes, your jewelry.  It is not in what you have or don’t have, be they things, jobs, marriages, children, vacations. It is in your mind and in your heart.

Envision it. Believe it. Know it. Right now. You have enough.

Repeat:  I have all that I need in this moment. I have enough. 

Entry filed under: affirmations.

Buying for Simplifying? Enough Body Drama! Thank You, Nancy Redd.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. J. David Pincus  |  January 10, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I’m not sure I was completely clear on what an “Affirmation” was until you explained it, Megat. Now I know, and it is very much you and your attitude toward life. And it’s clearly something of benefit to everybody — a reminder to look at oneself and surroundings from a “half full” rather than a “half empty” perspective.

    Do it, keep doing it, and do it your way. You’re good at this, and I think your find it fulfilling, for you. Could there any better reason to write something? Don’t think so.

    Thought your last snippet of this affirmation was going to be “I am rich.” Seems like it might round out the thought based on the quotation.

    Will keep my eyes open for other quotations . . . Actually, one does come to mind (which comes from my high school graduation speech, if you believe I can remember back that far): “The people who get on in this world are the ones who get up and look for the circumstances they want — and if they can’t find them, make them” . . . George Bernard Shaw

    Proud of you, kid . . . Love, Pop

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Learning that I always – and I mean always – have enough has been one of the hardest and one of the most important lessons I have learned. Byron Katie’s “Loving What Is” really helped me not just get it intellectually but to really look at the beliefs that kept me in fear of not having enough.

    Good stuff! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. Melissa  |  January 10, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I love this idea– help us all remember to feel GOOD about having enough, in concrete ways. Awesome!

    Reply
  • 4. Diana  |  January 11, 2008 at 4:22 am

    I didn’t quite understand what an affirmation was too, and I really foudn yours and empowering example. I think that you have in some ways affirmed yourself by having enough with what your blog can do as opposed what you should/could have gotten through the column. I look forward to your future affirmation, since this one left me feeling so satisfied.

    Reply
  • 5. Shawn  |  January 18, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Awesome! Love it. Thanks. I’m writing it down so I’ll remember (mommy brain, you know)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


