To Our Health

February 7, 2008 at 1:53 pm 2 comments

So, my daughter and I have pretty much gone from one nasty cold to another and into awful stomach flu these past few weeks. And, as most of us know, everything else falls by the wayside when we don’t have our health.

I have thought about this a lot in the context of having enough, and I always come back to it. Health is the most basic need we have. If we have it, so much is possible. If we struggle with it, all of the other “things” so clearly matter less.

Health has always been an issue for me, several nagging, chronic conditions affecting me since childhood. Nothing life-threatening in the immediate sense, but once I got honest with myself, life-altering enough to make some major changes. It’s all connected, of course. Our physical health, our mental health, our relationships, our work.

As my physical health has been compromised here lately, all of the other pieces seem harder to keep going. Now that I am finally feeling un-sick again, I am having to check back in with myself on the commitments I’ve made over the past ten years to keep my body, mind, and soul feeling healthy.

So, here are my reminders:

– Healthy Food (if it grows, eat it)

– Water!

– Joyful Movement

– Rest

– Simplicity!

– Following My Gut (and speaking my truth)

– Attention First to Loved Ones (including myself)

So basic are these, and yet so easy to lose track of sometimes. And, for me, these principles are the key to my good health. I’m going to focus intently on these commitments again in days ahead, and get me and my girl back to our healthy, immune-system-strong selves. It takes work. And it’s OK to falter sometimes and get back on the path.

And, on a related note, let’s just say, health care is one of my very top issues in this current and coming election (have you seen Sicko yet?). Our health, its gift, is the verymost basic “enough” we are granted, and grant ourselves.

That all said, please see the sidebar for this month’s affirmation, to our health!

Entry filed under: affirmations, Health, Life.

Classic Cartoon! If You Had A Year To Live…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  February 7, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    So glad you’re feeling better!

    Reply
  • 2. Mrs. Jones  |  February 18, 2008 at 4:52 am

    Glad to hear you and your daughter are feeling better. You’ve had a tough few months! The monthly affirmation is great. Thanks for reminding us all how important this basic need is.

    And the candidate with the best health care plan should definitely win!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


