Monthly Affirmations

March 5, 2008 at 11:46 am 1 comment

This month’s (March) “Having Enough” affirmation:

“The ability to simplify means to eliminate the unnecessary
so that the necessary may speak.”
— Hans Hofmann

Stop. Listen. If I cannot hear clearly, I know to unclutter. My home, menu, schedule, closet, mind. What I need to know about my life’s direction, health and relations is there, buried beneath the excess. The process of simplifying brings me great clarity.

Repeat: I eliminate the unnecessary so the necessary may speak.

(By the way, Hans Hofmann was a German abstract expressionist painter and art professor who wrote the book, Search for the Real. I love how his quote refers so aptly to art and life.)

Also, I realize I put last month’s (February) affirmation on my sidebar, but never actually blogged it, so I will repeat it here so it can be cataloged with the others:

“The first health is wealth.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

My health is worth more than any possessions or accolades. If I care for my health, I care for my whole self and my loved ones. If I cherish my health, it continues to give me all I need. If I lose my health, I can set my intentions and actions to recover it. A healthy body, mind and soul are true gifts.

Repeat: I cherish and care for the ultimate wealth of my health.

Entry filed under: affirmations, Health, Life, Stuff.

Laura Dern On Less Is More Family First

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  March 13, 2008 at 3:29 am

    Hello~ I just discovered your blog. It’s great! I especially love these quotes. Thank you for sharing them.

    I’m in the process of becoming a life & wellness coach. I’m also on a journey to my authentic self. Blogging has been a great way to meet like-minded souls on similar journeys.

    My blogs are: http://nerdyrenegade.blogspot.com and http://notspending.blogspot.com

    Peace,
    Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


