Grumpy

May 18, 2008 at 4:57 am 1 comment

I’m grumpy tonight. Just plain grumpy. Huffy and impatient and gloomy. No specific reason, really. Jumbled thoughts of all kinds of things big and small. Apologies to the poor folks who live with me for my short temper this evening. It will pass, and I’ll be chipper again.

Being grumpy is natural. I’m learning on the grumpy days (which may also be hormonal days, hmmm) to just be. Grumpy. Not overanalyze it. Not look for reasons. Not think it means something is “wrong” or I need “more” or there isn’t enough happy to go around.

Just let the mood be a mood, like a hot day versus a chilly one. Not fan the flames but let them just burn a bit, dance their fire dance for a while. Know the morning dew will ease the heat away if it just stays smoldering in that low place.

Ignore the grumpy and it will sooner go away than if I engage with it. Better yet, practice lovingkindness on the grumpy. Hug it and honor it in all its curmudgeonliness.

Now, if I could only stop harumphing at my poor husband. Then, I’d really be evolving.

Entry filed under: Life.

Health Day Enough Rights?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jena  |  May 19, 2008 at 1:16 am

    Bah – maybe evolving is overrated. At least that’s what I think when I’m grumpy (and hormonal).

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds