Once In a Lifetime

May 17, 2009 at 6:28 am 1 comment

It’s been a blur of “once in a lifetime” moments around here these days, specifically for my husband, Alex, in the context of being named California Teacher of the Year. But he has been most generous in sharing these moments with as many people as possible.

Last night, Alex gave my dad a once-in-a-lifetime moment when he brought Dad out on the field at the San Diego Padres game to catch the ceremonial first pitch Alex threw. My dad was a catcher in his younger days, recruited by the then-Milwaukee Braves, but he chose instead to pursue the surer path of getting a higher education and having a family. What beautiful full circle it was last night for him to catch his first major league pitch, from his teacher son-in-law, on “education night” at the ballpark.

Last week, Alex met the Obamas at the White House (more on this soon!) and hung out at the Bidens’ house on Mass Ave (my old undergrad address) in Washington, D.C.  He gave my brother and his cousin a great memory, too, when he brought them along to meet the Prez (I stayed back West with the little ones) — also giving my brother a great story to share with my nephews for years to come.

But, my favorite “once in a lifetime” gesture of Alex these days may just be that he made the choice to pass up a 10-day educational trip to Japan this summer so he could be home with me and the kids.  He said, “I’ve had a crazy year of once-in-a-lifetime opportunities, and this trip could be another one. But I believe that it is also a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to spend my time with my three-month-old, my three-year-old, and my wife, so I will not be taking the trip.”

And, with that, I believe we are back to the heart of Having Enough.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

10-10-10 by Suzy Welch: A Values-Driven System for Success Book Review Meets Real Life: Obama: The Historic Journey

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. thepilatesbiz.com  |  February 8, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Found your website through Facebook. Ill be signing up to your feed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


