Nine Months In, Nine Months Out

November 13, 2009 at 8:37 pm 3 comments

I took a walk today.  I went out the back gate of our suburban, Southern California townhouse, I rounded the corner out of our neighborhood and wound down the sidewalk through the canyon and the eucalyptus grove.  I looked up at the blue sky, felt the vibrations of the cars whizzing past, listened to the birds and the sounds of middle schoolers at recess on the other side of the canyon, noticed the bees hovering, the drying dog shit in the dirt, the single bird of paradise peaking out of a bush.  I imagined the wildness of this canyon before all of the rows of terra cotta-roofed houses were here, thinking of the Little House in the Big Woods books my daughter is loving right now.  I smiled, I breathed.

I have one person to thank for that much-needed walk: Vicki Hoefle, founder of Parenting on Track, an insightful and life-altering program my husband and I are participating in from the comfort of our living room.  I am coming to see Vicki as a sage for parents like me, as I benefit from her online coaching that is part of the home program package.  She told me to un-leash myself from the laundry today while the sitter was here and take that walk.  So wise.  Thanks, Vicki.

And I am eternally grateful to Jena Strong, life coach and author of the fabulous Bullseye, Baby! blog, for turning me on to Vicki and her program, and also for a 20-minute phone conversation a few weeks ago that I truly see as the hand that helped me climb out of the hole I’ve been in for the past few months.  As an erstwhile coach myself, I see the gift Jena has — she truly listens, she knows just when to interject a common experience, when to validate, when to sigh, and then she moves the conversation to action exactly when action is needed.  I can’t wait to work with her more in the future.

So, yes, this hole. I suppose it is the extended post-partum, really.  The nine months of gestating my new role as mother of two.  Those of you who are fellow writers and fellow birth-givers know how the hormones shut down the writing brain for a while, and how life becomes a blur of being in life, reacting, rather than writing about it.  Jena told me she started her blog when her second child was nine months old.  Thank you for that, Jena.

So, if I have any readers left at all, I am going to try to post more for you to read and ponder with me in coming months.  Or perhaps new readers will come.  I have more thoughts on success and failure to process — as I have been faced with my own overachiever demons once again, this time in the realm of parenting. Parenting two people.  Talk about having to redefine success.

I am grateful to have sages like Vicki Hoefle and Jena Strong to support me on this next stage of my Having Enough journey.   I am eager to see where it takes me, but I’m sure wherever it does, it will have interesting scenery — complete with eucalyptus trees and dog shit and children’s voices across the canyon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pretending to Be Asleep Hey, you’re out there!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  November 14, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I will be traveling with you and if you don’t mind I think I will invite a few thousand of my closes friends to follow you as well. I have always known that in the story of women lay the power to heal the world. Let the healing begin.

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole Kessinger  |  November 15, 2009 at 6:06 am

    I may not be in the same place in my life as you are (yet…!), but I enjoy and am thankful for your blog. I appreciate the fact that I get to know your inner thoughts even when I don’t get to see you every year, or have yet to grow into the adult world enough to talk about these things with you as a natural “catching up” conversation. I think you and Alex are a joyful example of what I hope to find, and I brag about you to all my friends! If you think your readers have all given up, I’m still here 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Jena Strong  |  November 16, 2009 at 2:18 am

    Oh, Megan. What a beautiful post. You have yourself to thank. For reaching out, showing up, and stepping out the door. I’m so grateful our paths have crossed and have no question that they will continue to do so. We are here for each other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


