Put Down The Phones, Please!

February 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm 2 comments

So, today is the first time in my life I have been so grateful for web banner ads!  Apparently Oprah Winfrey has launched a campaign to get people to stop texting and talking (beyond hands-free) while driving.  Yes!!!!  (I found this out from a banner ad on my Yahoo group.)

The other day I was driving and looked around me and every other driver I could see was holding a cell phone and talking — and this is illegal in our state!  Come on, friends, it does not take the proverbial rocket scientist to know that holding a phone and talking while driving means we are not fully conscious of our driving and we are putting people’s lives in danger.  Are we really so self-involved and self-important that we cannot either wait to text or talk, or take a moment to put on a headset and do it safely?  Well, I won’t answer that, but I will post here Oprah’s “No Phone Zone” pledge and public information campaign.  Please sign it with me, and please pass it on!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The New Global Student: One of Those Books Enough Prejudice!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  February 14, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    I am with you sista and because of this, I will be totally dissed by the other folks I hang with who use their drive time as a chance to work. But me, I got 5 kids on the road and let me tell you, I don’t want them or anyone else chatting to lead to anyone’s death.

    Love ya

    Reply
  • 2. Dara  |  February 18, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Was listening to an interview on CBC radio (Canada) yesterday where a researcher was recommending no cell phones period while driving. Apparently hands free devices don’t actually reduce the number of accidents significantly. It is the act of conversing with someone not in the vehicle (i.e. someone who is not aware of what is going on around YOU and able to respond appropriately) that causes the problems, not holding the phone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


