National No Phone Zone Day

April 30, 2010 at 4:45 am Leave a comment

It’s tomorrow (April 30)!  Please consider taking part.

Did you know you are four times more likely to get into a car accident if you are talking on a cell phone, even hands-free?  That is the same as being legally drunk!  And, if you are texting while driving, you are EIGHT times more likely to crash.

Just today I watched a neighbor texting while driving her SUV through our townhouse development, barely looking up at all.  On the streets my kids will theoretically be riding their bikes on one day.  Not cool.

We are intelligent people.  Let’s stop making the honest-to-goodness stupid decision to use cell phones while driving.

I know it’s hard to break the habit, trust me, I know!  And I’m bummed to promote this when I have loved ones who I get to talk to while they are on their commutes (and I adore talking with them when they call).  But, bottom line, I love my loved ones, and I want them to be safe.  So does everybody else.

So, OK, enough with the cell phones and texting while driving.  Enough.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bold Parent Credo Book Review: You’re Not the Boss of Me!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

You are visiting "Having Enough (In a Have-It-All World)"...

Blog Mission

To spark conversation about redefining success (as individuals, families and institutions) and to counter "never enough" messages currently circulating in our culture.

Blog Author

Megan Pincus Kajitani: Writer, Editor, Former Academic Overachiever and Career Counselor, Mom, Wife, Feminist, Gen Xer, Californian who believes that change is possible View Megan Pincus Kajitani's profile on LinkedIn

Books for Having Enough Kids

Shop Button www.megansbarefootbooks.com

Feeds


